This is the "Library resources" page of the "Culinary Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Culinary Arts  

Last Updated: Feb 16, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.rcc.edu/content.php?pid=572956 Print Guide RSS Updates

Library resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

TEXTBOOKS

Textbooks are located in the Reserve Section behind the circulation desk on the 2nd floor of the library. Students need to provide call numbers and present their student ID cards to check-out textbooks which circulate for 2 hours and may not be taken out of the Library.  

Cover Art
ServSafe Coursebook - National Restaurant Association Staff
Call Number: RCC Reserve (Circ Desk) -- CUL 36 RIV PERM 1
ISBN: 9780133075830
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Professional Baking - Wayne Gisslen
Call Number: RCC Reserve (Circ Desk) -- CUL 20 RIV PERM 1
ISBN: 9781118083741
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Professional Cake Decorating - Toba M. Garrett
Call Number: RCC Reserve (Circ Desk) -- CUL 22 RIV PERM 1
ISBN: 9780470380093
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Professional Cooking (7th ed) - Wayne Gisslen
Call Number: RCC Reserve (Circ Desk) -- CUL 36 RIV PERM 2
ISBN: 9780470197530
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Flavor Bible - Andrew Dornenburg; Karen Page;
Call Number: RCC Main Stack (3rd floor) -- TX651 P34 2008
ISBN: 9780316118408
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Professional Cooking (8th ed.) - Wayne Gisslen
Call Number: COMING SOON
ISBN: 9781118636725
Publication Date: 2014


 

RECOMMENDED BOOK

Cover Art
The Professional Chef - Culinary Institute of America Staff
Call Number: RCC Main Stack (3rd floor) -- TX820 P738 2011
ISBN: 9780470421352
Publication Date: 2011
Named one of the five favorite culinary books of this decade by Food Arts magazine, The Professional Chef is the classic kitchen reference that many of America's top chefs have used to understand basic skills and standards for quality as well as develop a sense of how cooking works. Now, the ninth edition features an all-new, user-friendly design that guides readers through each cooking technique, starting with a basic formula, outlining the method at-a-glance, offering expert tips, covering each method with beautiful step-by-step photography, and finishing with recipes that use the basic techniques. The new edition also offers a global perspective and includes essential information on nutrition, food and kitchen safety, equipment, and product identification. Basic recipe formulas illustrate fundamental techniques and guide chefs clearly through every step, from mise en place to finished dishes. Includes an entirely new chapter on plated desserts and new coverage of topics that range from sous vide cooking to barbecuing to seasonality Highlights quick reference pages for each major cooking technique or preparation, guiding you with at-a-glance information answering basic questions and giving new insights with expert tips Features nearly 900 recipes and more than 800 gorgeous full-color photographs Covering the full range of modern techniques and classic and contemporary recipes, The Professional Chef, Ninth Edition is the essential reference for every serious cook

 

SEARCHING FOR BOOKS & MEDIA

You can search for books and videos by using the library's online catalog.

ONLINE RESOURCES

The following resources are available online to RCC students 24/7 via the internet.  If connecting from off-campus, you will need to login with your student ID and password.

 

MEDIA

The following are just a few of the videos available for viewing in the library.  They can be requested at the circulation desk on the second floor of the library.

Cover Art
ServSafe - National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX911.3.S3 S47 2009
ISBN: 9781582802510
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Good Eats : The Complete First Season
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX651 .G656 2010
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Good Eats : The Complete Second Season
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX651 .G6562 2010
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Good Eats on the Table - Alton Brown
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX652 .G682 2009
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Kitchen Wisdom From Good Eats
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX811 .K58 2009
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Recipe Costing : the Bottom Line - Culinary Institute of America
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX911.3.C65 R43 2007
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Cooking From A to Zest
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX714 C66 2010
ISBN: 823753430098
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
The Restaurateur
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX911.3 M27R47 2010
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
The Startup Experience. Experience Starting a Restaurant
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- HD62.5 S739 2012
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Matter of Taste: Serving Up Paul Liebrandt - First Run Features
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX649 .L6M38 2010
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Three Stars, a Culinary Documentary
Call Number: RCC Media (Circ Desk) -- TX649 T47 2010
Publication Date: 2013


 

RECENT ACQUISITIONS

Cover Art
Yes, Chef : A Memoir - Marcus Samuelsson; Veronica Chambers
Call Number: RCC Main Stack (3rd floor) -- TX649 S226A3 2012
ISBN: 9780385342605
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Consider the Fork : A History of How We Cook and Eat - Bee Wilson
Call Number: RCC Main Stack (3rd floor) -- TX656 W56 2012
ISBN: 9780465021765
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Culinary Reactions : The Everyday Chemistry of Cooking - Simon Quellen Field
Call Number: RCC Main Stack (3rd floor) -- TX545 F46 2012
ISBN: 9781569767061
Publication Date: 2012


 

REFERENCE BOOKS

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America - Andrew Smith (Editor); Bruce Kraig
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) -- TX349 E45 2013
ISBN: 9780199734962
Publication Date: 2013

Cover Art
The Chef's Companion - Elizabeth Riely
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) -- TX349 R48 2003
ISBN: 9780471398424
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia - Ken Albala (Editor)
Call Number: RCC Referemce (2nd floor) -- GT2850 F666 2011
ISBN: 9780313376269
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
The Atlas of Food - Erik Millstone; Tim Lang
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) -- TX353 M55 2008
ISBN: 9780520254091
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Handbook of Food Science, Technology, and Engineering - Y. H. Hui
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) -- TP370.4 H38 2006
ISBN: 9780849398476
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
The Cambridge World History of Food - Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Coneè Ornelas (Editor)
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) --
ISBN: 0521402166
Publication Date: 2000

Cover Art
The Nutribase Complete Book of Food Counts - NutriBase
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) -- TX551 N743 2001
ISBN: 1583331077
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
Fat and Fiber - Nutribase Staff
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) -- TX551 N7453 2001
ISBN: 1583331115
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition - David A. Bender
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) -- TX349 B4115 2009
ISBN: 9780199234875
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Dictionary of Food and Ingredients - Robert S. Igoe; Y. H. Hui
Call Number: RCC Reference (2nd floor) -- TX551 I26 2001
ISBN: 0834219522
Publication Date: 2001

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip