RCC's Library Catalog
ACCESS RCC's LIBRARY CATALOG from the RCC Library LAMP homepage - then clicking on Library Catalog; OR by clicking on Databases A-Z, then from the alphabetcial list that results, scrolling down to and clicking on Library Catalog.
HARD-COPY BOOKS - KEYWORD SEARCH (see third paragraph in this column below) the RCC Library Catalog for books and media (DVDs, etc.) physically shelved in the Library. From a result list, click any of the titles listed to see for a given title its bibliographic details - that is, author, title, publishing information, contents notes, subject headings assigned to items for precision subject searching; and its location information - that is, where in the library that item is shelved and its call number or shelf-location number, that also broadly indicates the subject content of a book.
E-BOOKS (electronic books) - When searching the Library Catalog, in a results list you will also see electronic books listed. These are indicated (a) by having the bracketed phrase [electronic resource] following its title and (b) with a "floppy diskette" icon in front of and just to the lower left of a book icon both to the far right of titles in a results list). Click on any of these e-book titles and from its full bibliographic description that results, scroll down and click on the link: ACCESS FOR RIVERSIDE CITY COLLEGE - then follow directions on the resulting screen to read this e-book full text immediately, conveniently online. See also on this page the rightmost column labeled: FOR E-BOOKS ABOUT THE HOLOCAUST.
KEYWORD searching the Library Catalog on holocaust is a simple way to start. Then scrolling up and down a results list, click on titles to see their full bibliographic descriptions respectively -- noting especially the SUBJECT section of these descriptions to see the official subject headings or indexing terms assigned to items and so about those subjects in a major way. For the alternative SUBJECT SEARCH option when using the Library Catalog see on this page the middle column labeled: FOR BOOKS ABOUT THE HOLOCAUST and its explanation about SUBJECT searching the Library Catalog.
BOOKS ABOUT THE HOLOCAUST
SUBJECT SEARCHING is the most efficient and effective way to search RCC's Library Catalog (or any database for that matter) because by doing so you're using, in effect, the "official language of the catalog/database" - that is, the official subject headings or indexing terms (the fixed words and phrases) used by the catalogers to describe the exact subject content of books and other items indexed by the catalog/database.
The RCC Library, along with most other libraries in the United States, uses as its official subject headings in its library catalog those from the Library of Congress [LC] - and so again, it's these official LC subject headings that must be used when SUBJECT searching RCC's Library Catalog.
EXAMPLE FOR THE HOLOCAUST: To SUBJECT SEARCH for books and other RCC Library items about the HOLOCAUST do the following: At the RCC Library Catalog's SUBJECT search interface screen, set to Riverside Library - in the search-statement box, type this official LC subject heading HOLOCAUST, JEWISH, 1939-1945 (type it exactly as you see it here, except capitalization and punctuation aren't necessary).
RESULTS: A list of all the subject headings used in the RCC Library Catalog that begin with: HOLOCAUST JEWISH 1939-1945 - for example:
- Holocaust Jewish 1939-1945 Biblography
- Holocaust Jewish 1939-1945 Biography
- Holocaust Jewish 1939-1945 Causes
And so on down through
- Holocaust Jewish 1939-1945 Ukraine, Podgorodtsy
NOTE: To the far right of each of these subject headings is a number indicating how many items (books, media, etc.) in the RCC Library have been assigned that particular subject heading and so are about that particular subject or aspect of the Holocaust in a major way. At the top of this list or column of numbers is the label Entries [some number] Found, with the number given there representing the total number of RCC Library books and other items that have been assigned one or the other of the subject headings that begin with HOLOCAUST JEWISH 1939-1945.
Click on any of these subject headings to see the item/s assigned that particular subject heading and so about that subject in enough of a major way to warrant that subject heading being assigned to that item/s.
NOTE TOO: At the top of the list of subject headings that begin with HOLOCAUST JEWISH 1939-1945 is the heading: Holocaust Jewish 1939-1945 - [some number] Related Headings. Click on this to see these related LAMP Library Catalog subject headings for yet more information about aspects of the Holocaust described by these subject headings - and so:
- Holocaust (Christian Theology)
- Holocaust Survivors
- World War 1939-1945 Jews
- World War 1939-1945 Underground Movements, Jewish
- Righteous Gentiles in the Holocaust
Then when clicking on each of these, you are taken EITHER (a) to an item or list of items assigned one of the above subject headigs OR (b) to a list of subject headings that begin with the subject heading you click on to see specific aspects of that main subject heading.
FINALLY - Try SUBJECT searching too on just the word HOLOCAUST and note the resulting long list of subject headings that begin with that word, including as you scroll down this list the official LC subject heading Holocaust Jewish 1939-1945 - but also including other subject headings of interest, for example, Holocaust and Jewish Law, Holocaust Christian Theology, Holocaust Denial and several others as you look on down through this entire list, including Holocaust Survivors.
E-BOOKS ABOUT THE HOLOCAUST
E-BOOKS ("electronic books") - that is, those available full text online - are listed in the RCC Library Catalog, along with hardcopy books - that is, those physically shelved in the RCC Library.
Having KEYWORD or SUBJECT searched the Library Catalog, then looking at an initial, simple results list, items that are e-books are designated with (a) the bracketed qualifier or descriptor [ELECTRONIC RESOURCE] just to the right of the main title of an item; (b) with the hypertext link WEBSITE rather than a "location / call # / status" designated.
When searching the Library Catalog, in a results list you will also see electronic books listed. These are indicated (a) the bracketed phrase [electronic resource] following its title and (b) with a "floppy diskette" icon in front of and just to the lower left of a book icon both to the far right of titles in a results list).
Click on any of these e-book titles and from its full bibliographic description that results, scroll down and click on the link: ACCESS FOR RIVERSIDE CITY COLLEGE - then follow directions on the resulting screen to read this e-book full text immediately, conveniently online.
You can search the Library Catalog to find only the e-books indexed by the Catalog by doing one of the following:
- KEYWORD search using keywords or phrases descriptive of your topic followed by the word "and" followed by the phrase "electronic resource" - for example: holocaust and electronic resource.
- Search the catalog - either by KEYWORD, TITLE, AUTHOR, or SUBJECT - but set to ALL E-BOOK COLLECTION; do this by clicking on the down arrow to the right of the second textbox on a search interface-screen, a textbox that by default has RIVERSIDE LIBRARY listed in it (when you click on this down arrow, a menu drops down from which you can click on ALL E-BOOK COLLECTION).
- From LAMP's Databases A-Z, scroll down the alphabetcial list of databases in the left column of the Databases A-Z table and click on EBSCO ebooks. What results is the homepage for the EbscoHost database eBook Collection (also known as: eBook Full Text). Use the search-statement box at the top left of the page to type keywords or phrases descriptive of your topic, then clickon the SEARCH button. What results is a list of e-books from this database that somewhere in their respective descriptions have the keywords or phrases you just searched on.
FOR EXAMPLE: Typing holocaust in the search-statement textbox, then clicking on SEARCH, what results is a list of titles of over 100 books that have the keyword holocaust somewhere in their respective descriptions. By clicking on one of these titles you can then see its full bibliographic description (just as you would in the Library Catalog) and then links for opening this book to read it in its entirety full text online, etc.